### **CALENDAR**

## STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY THURSDAY, OCTOBER 8, 2015 9:00AM – 11:45AM

## Suburban Collection Showplace, Novi

\*Denotes Action Items

#### PLEASE NOTE: MEETING BEGINS AT 9:00 A.M.

9:00 a.m. 1. Introductory Matters

A. Call to order by Chair Vanessa Peterson Williams with Parliamentarian Hon. John M. Chmura

Ms. Vanessa Peterson Williams

[IHS, Inc., 26533 Evergreen Rd., Ste., 900, Southfield, MI 48076 phone: (248) 728-7250; email: vanessa.williams@ihs.com]

[Hon. John M. Chmura, 37th District Court, 8300 Common Rd., # 104, Warren, MI 48093 phone: (586) 574-4925; email: jchmura@cityofwarren.org]

- B. Certification that a quorum is present by Assembly Clerk, Mr. Fred K. Herrmann. [Kerr Russell & Weber PLC, 500 Woodward Ave., Ste. 2500, Detroit, MI 48226 phone: (313) 961-0200 x1017; email: fherrmann@kerr-russell.com]
- C. Adoption of proposed calendar by Chair, Rules & Calendar, Mr. Matthew W. Antkoviak [Antkoviak & Antkoviak PC, 416 Hubbard St., Allegan, MI 49010 phone: (269) 673-8468; email: mantkoviak@yahoo.com]
- D. Approval of the April 25, 2015 Summary of Proceedings

9:05 a.m. 2. \*Filling Vacancies

Ms. Shenique A. Moss

Chair, Assembly Nominating and Awards Committee

[Michigan Department of Attorney General, 525 W. Ottawa St., Floor 2, P.O. Box 30754, Lansing, MI 48909

phone: (517) 373-1130; email: mosss@michigan.gov]

9:10 a.m. 3. Special Issues Committee Presentation on Dues

Mr. Aaron Burrell

Chair, Special Issues Committee

[Dickinson Wright PLLC, 500 Woodward Ave., Ste. 4000, Detroit, MI 48226

phone: (313) 223-3118; email: aburrell@dickinsonwright.com]

9:20 a.m. 4. Assembly Review Committee Presentation on Communication Strategy

Ms. Kimberly A. Breitmeyer

Chair, Assembly Review Committee

[LARA Corporations Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 30018, Lansing, MI 48909

phone: (517) 241-9424; email: breitmeyerk@michigan.gov]

9:25 a.m. 5. \*Consideration of Amendments to MCR 2.116 and 2.119 – Reply Briefs Proponent: Ms. Karen H. Safran Chair, Civil Procedure & Courts Committee [Carson Fischer PLC, 4111 Andover Rd., Floor 2, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302 phone: (248) 644-4840; email: ksafran@carsonfischer.com] -Invited to comment: All State Bar Sections, Committees & Members -Assembly debate 9:45 a.m. \*Consideration of Amendments to MCR 3.605, 3.606, 3.928, 3.944, 3.956, 6.001, 6.425, 6.445, 6. 6.610, and 6.933 – Fees, Fines, and Ability to Pay Proponents: Mr. Robert F. Gillett Member, Committee on Justice Initiatives [Michigan Advocacy Program, 420 N. 4th Ave., Ann Arbor, MI 48104 phone: (734) 665-6181; email: rgillett@lsscm.org] Ms. Valerie R. Newman Member, Committee on Justice Initiatives [State Appellate Defender Office, 645 Griswold St., Ste. 3300, Detroit, MI 48226 phone: (313) 256-9833; email: vnewman@sado.org] -Invited to comment: All State Bar Sections, Committees & Members -Assembly debate 10:05 a.m. 7. \*HJR S (Vaupel) Courts; judges; age limit for election of or appointment to a judicial office; increase to 75 years of age. Amends sec. 19, art. VI of the state constitution. SJR J (Bieda) Courts; judges; election of or appointment to a judicial office of person who has reached 70 years of age; remove prohibition. Amends sec. 19, art. VI of the state constitution. Proponent: Mr. John P. Mayer [9132 Horsemill Rd., Grosse Ile, MI 48138 phone: (734) 558-5593; email: mayerjohn3373@gmail.com] -Assembly debate 10:35 a.m. 8. Break 10:45 a.m. 9. Presentation of the Unsung Hero Award to Hon. Allie Greenleaf Maldonado Presenter: Hon. Angela Kay Sherigan [Wojnecka & Sherigan PC, 56804 Mound Rd., Shelby Township, MI 48316 phone: (586) 822-4220; email: nwlacouncil@aol.com] 10:55 a.m. Presentation of the Michael Franck Award to Vernon D. Kortering (posthumous) 10. Presenter: Daniel F. Bonner [Legal Aid of Western Michigan-Muskegon, 450 Morris Ave. Ste. 104, Muskegon, MI 49440 phone: (231-726-4887, ext. 225; email: dbonner@legalaidwestmich.net] 11:05 a.m. 11. Comments from Chief Justice Robert P. Young, Jr. [Michigan Supreme Court, P.O. Box 30052, Lansing, MI 48909 phone: (313) 972-3250] 11:20 a.m. 12. \*Nomination and Election of Assembly Clerk 11:25 a.m. 13. Presentation of Recognition to Assembly members completing their terms of service and Committee Chairs

11:30 a.m.	14.	Swearing in of Daniel D. Quick as 2015-2016 Chairperson of the Representative Assembly. (Daniel D. Quick will be sworn in by Chief Justice Robert P. Young, Jr.)
11:35 a.m.	15.	Presentation of Recognition to the Immediate Past Assembly Chair
11:45 p.m.	16.	Adjournment
12:00 p.m.		Inaugural Luncheon

# ATTENDANCE FORMS ARE CIRCULATED AND COLLECTED AT THE $\underline{\text{CONCLUSION}}$ OF THE MEETING

Please note that the Representative Assembly meets next on Saturday, April 30, 2016.